Carbs and fuel issues

Discuss MEL Engine Stock Carburetor Topics
jjtoney
Airman basic

Carbs and fuel issues

Post by jjtoney » Tue 8. Mar 2011, 20:08

Hello everyone newbie here,
I have a question on my 66 coupe. I am new to Lincoln continentals. I live in the hot desert in Arizona. My car has been worked on by a mechanic which installed a new electric fuel pump, fuel lines, edelbrock carb, cleaned fuel tank etc. Also was replaced starter, flywheel, just about everything electrical. My question is that when it gets really hot my car takes awhile to start. It starts up but I have to put my the pedal to the floor to turn it over. Not sure if it is fuel issue but may have heard that when its hot the fuel boils and evaporates, therefore not getting fuel to the carb? Although its only march i do not want to go through this problem again in the summer. If you have suggestions I would greatly appreciate it. thanks Josh!

Theo
Administrator
Administrator

Re: Carbs and fuel issues

Post by Theo » Wed 9. Mar 2011, 01:51

If hood clearance allows try to install a phenolic spacer. It is an excellent heat barrier for your carb and they come in various heights. Also make sure the holes are big enough in diameter to match your carb's throttle blades. Otherwise they won't open correctly or might even stick.
Hot start problems is very common w. those mammut engines when they sit down for an hour or two. It's just the you described. Flooring the pedal is what I do too.
Other than this reason I can't think of in the moment.
Use modeling clay to determine hood clearance and do a mock up first w. s.th. in height as a spacer before you purchase it.
Good luck.
Best regards
Theo
Admin

keithol
Airman
Airman
Music instruments you're playing: I wish I could play guitar

Post by keithol » Wed 9. Mar 2011, 04:22