Edelbrock L300

Discuss everything about the Tripower induction.
63lc58mk3
Airman basic

Edelbrock L300

Post by 63lc58mk3 » Sat 10. Mar 2012, 15:46

Hello, I'm a newbie when it comes to tripower, I recently picked up one of this with no carbs and it has been drilled and hogged so it can take 3 or 4 bolt base carbs, I took it with a local guy a friend of a friend that rebuilts carbs for a look and said i could use rochesters or holley 94's, of course there's much more than just carbs, doing a little search here I'm a little confused on how they work is it vacuum operated or progressive? are all the carbs the same or the outboards different? can i use the holley 94's? I will post pics when I get a chance, just wanna know more about this beacuse I know this set ups can be tricky.

Chris Craft crazy
Technical Sergeant
Technical Sergeant
Music instruments you're playing: Guitar

Re: Edelbrock L300

Post by Chris Craft crazy » Sat 10. Mar 2012, 19:27

The middle carburetor is the only one that has idle and choke circuits. The two outer carburetors are 'dumpers' that advance as the linkage asks them to. While the three carburetors may total over 1000 CFM , this is not an indication of comparison between a four barrel carburetor and a tri power.

How the vacuum advance works is not my area, since my own tri power is marine, and is a mechanical.
MEL Marine division... and if you thought MEL car parts were scarce....

63lc58mk3
Airman basic

Post by 63lc58mk3 » Mon 12. Mar 2012, 12:40

Thanks for the info, would holley 94's would be a good carb to use? What carb would be best for this intake, I'm not building a race engine or anything like that just going after looks.

58-Pagoda
Senior Airman
Senior Airman

Post by 58-Pagoda » Wed 18. Apr 2012, 15:17